Apprendre, jouer, découvrir et se détendre!

Cette retraite de danse de feu de 7 ou 15 jours sur la magnifique île de Bali combine poi et baton à une nature immaculée et à des expéditions d’aventure.

Vojta, Srikanta & Jen ont le plaisir d’inviter le légendaire Yuta pour l’événement de cette année! Ensemble, nous sommes heureux de proposer un événement unique adapté à tous les niveaux de Danseurs de Poi et Baton.

pool-3

Les classes d’enseignement combinent jeux, détente et découverte du riche patrimoine naturel et culturel de Bali. Les participants peuvent choisir leur niveau de défi, mais dans l’ensemble, cette retraite est très propice à la détente et au plaisir de la balade.

En plus des cours quotidiens et playtimes, nous explorerons de nombreux endroits incroyables autour de Bali (transport privé organisé): ruines de temples, cascades, volcans, plages immaculées et rizières emblématiques.

Rejoignez-nous pour l’aventure et le plaisir à Bali!

inscrivez-vous tôt et obtenez une reduction

Qui est le bienvenu?

Tous les niveaux, de débutant à avancé, sont les bienvenus.

Les instructeurs proposeront des options de intermédiaire et avancé pour la plupart des techniques ou diviseront les cours. Comme nous sommes 4 instructeurs, nous sommes bien équipés pour répondre aux besoins individuels. Les classes d’instruction auront lieu de 9h à 12h dans un espace d’entraînement climatisé.

Poi: Mars 22-29 2020

Les ateliers se dérouleront en groupe et individuellement (pour certains techniques, nous pourrions former des petits groupes en fonction du niveau de compétence et de vos intérêts). Pour tirer le meilleur parti de cette retraite, assurez-vous de connaître les mouvements de base du poi, tels que; Tissage à 3 temps (avant et arrière) moulin à vent, moulin à eau, moulinets et tournants à la hanche, papillon (même temps, temps intermédiaire), scie circulaire.

Si vous ne pouvez pas effectuer certains des mouvements énumérés ci-dessus, ne vous inquiétez pas! Nous allons vous apprendre ça. Toutefois, si vous souhaitez vous préparer, recherchez des tutoriels (tels que ceux de Playpoi.com – ils sont excellents!)

En dehors de cela, il y aura de brefs ateliers spontanés dans l’après-midi dans divers endroits que nous visiterons, et les instructeurs seront toujours heureux de vous aider individuellement!

L’objectif est également de vous inspirer (ce qui s’avère particulièrement facile à Bali, par exemple) et de définir vos objectifs futurs en matière de Poi. Vojta et Yuta seront heureux de vous aider à vous mettre sur la bonne voie et à donner un aperçu de leur propre parcours de poi.

IMG_6490

Baton: Mars 14-21 2020

Srikanta et Jen Barefoot de la compagnie Fusion Arts sont heureux de se lancer dans cette aventure avec vous. L’événement de Bali sera différent de nos autres retraites de danse du feu, qui sont plus rigoureuses et axées sur la création et l’exécution de chorégraphies dynamiques de danse du feu (Notre stage d’écriture de choréographie ce passe chaque année en France). L’objectif de la retraite à Bali est d’apprendre, de découvrir, de s’amuser et de se détendre.

Les périodes d’exploration et de découverte sont un processus nécessaire au renouvellement et à la régénération. Nous continuerons bien entendu à proposer un programme solide avec des options pour intermédiaire à avancé. Nous vous invitons à venir l’esprit ouvert, prêt à explorer, découvrir et voir où votre inspiration vous mène.

Comme l’événement de Bali est moins structuré que nos autres événements d’enseignement, nous pourrons mieux nous adapter aux intérêts du groupe. Nous pouvons décider de consacrer plus de temps à le technique, aux flow, aux performances, au double batons ou du baton en partenaires. nous sommes aussi dans une aventure de découverte ; )

Tout comme une grande tour a une fondation solide, plus votre fondation est solide, plus votre potentiel de montée en puissance est élevé. S’il vous plaît vérifiez votre compétence. Si vous pensez qu’il vous serait utile d’apprendre quelques techniques supplémentaires avant la retraite, nous vous invitons à visionner la série de vidéos pédagogiques de Srikanta sur Dancing with the Fire Staff,  téléchargeables / en streaming.

A propos des instructeurs

duo-danse-de-lumiere

Vojta est un pionnier tchèque du poi qui excelle à combiner des techniques de poi tech avec de la danse. Avec un style et une approche qui lui sont propres, il a inventé de nouvelles techniques innovantes de poi.

Vojta a partagé son enthousiasme pour le poi de loin et a enseigné plus d’une centaine d’ateliers dans le monde entier. En outre, il a filmé de nombreuses vidéos de poi inspirantes, y compris la vidéo de poi la plus regardée au monde, The Future Is Now. Consultez les videos  et le site Web personnel de Vojta pour en savoir plus sur cet artiste talentueux.

Srikanta a été la première danseuse de feu contemporaine présentée par le Cirque du Soleil (2007-2010). Elle a présenté plus de 700 spectacles avec poi de feu, bâton de feu, bâton de tir double et épées de tir double. Il cumule 20 ans d’expérience dans la danse du feu, notamment comme entraîneur de la danse du feu et danseur principal du feu pour le Cirque Du Soleil. Srikanta enseigne des ateliers de poi et du personnel dans le monde entier depuis 2003 et a créé une série de vidéos pédagogiques intitulée Dancing with the Fire Staff. Cliquez ici pour plus d’informations et pour acheter.

Jen fait partie intégrante de l’enseignement de Srikanta depuis 2011. En tant qu’enseignante ayant une formation en danse classique, elle continue de contribuer à la création et au perfectionnement de leur style de danse du feu basé sur la danse et à la manière dont elle est enseignée. Les deux combinent la technique de la danse sur feu avec les arts martiaux, l’acrobatie et la danse dans leurs spectacles ainsi que dans leurs cours d’instruction.

Yuta est un artiste de poi qui élargit les possibilités du poi et ouvre de nouvelles expressions du poi. La vidéo de poi qu’il a publiée en 2005 (Deepforest Endangered Species) est connue dans le monde entier comme l’une des performances révolutionnaires ayant eu une grande influence sur la communauté des poi au début. Il a enseigné et joué dans plus de 15 pays. Yuta se concentre maintenant sur des activités visant à propager la culture du poi au Japon.
Le site de Yuta / Youtube

Concepts typiques

BATON:

-Improvisation- Freedom of Movement/ Expression
-Creative and Dramatic Choices- dare!
-Optimising your training
-Bringing out your own style
-Dancing with the unforeseen- what to do when things don’t go as planned
-Special Focus on Body Movement & Dance

– increasing our ability to learn fast by

POI:

practicing coordination and hand independence
– beautifying and exploring possibilities of the moves you already can do
– becoming free with movement and expression, thoughts on improvisation and “flow” 
– incorporating our body into the motion
– contrast moves, transitions between different planes, cross-points
– anti-spin based moves
– pirouettes, tracers
– contact poi, tosses
– under the legs, jumps
– hyperloops (basics or advanced)
– wraps (spiral wraps, body wraps)
– stalls, transitions between all the moves
– behind the back moves
– triple poi and meteor basics (from one-handed weaves to one-handed anti-spin patterns)

* notez que nous ne pourrons peut-être pas tout faire, mais si nous manquons de temps, les cours seront adaptés à vos préférences.
Vous apprendrez non seulement des mouvements de poi et des tricks – nous expliquerons comment incorporer ces mouvements à une performance, comment obtenir une bonne présence sur scène, des acrobaties légères, des mouvements de danse que vous pourrez utiliser dans les arts de la scène vous seront enseignés . De plus, nous allons jouer à des jeux théâtraux qui nous aideront à explorer plus de possibilités de mouvements corporels.

Hébergement

pool-3

Puri Saron Madangan est un lieu de villégiature ressemblant à un temple niché dans l’intérieur luxuriant de Bali. Située loin des sentiers touristiques, la région bénéficie d’un air plus frais que le long des côtes de l’île. Le complexe présente une architecture typiquement balinaise, 3 piscines et une vue magnifique sur la jungle. Les villas sont charmantes et offrent toutes une vue imprenable sur la nature. Une expérience gastronomique unique est prévue: des repas indonésiens sont servis 3 fois par jour, sous forme de buffet.

Nous sommes ravis de trouver cet hôtel ainsi que le rapport positif avec la direction. C’est l’endroit idéal pour notre événement et ils nous ont permis de l’améliorer encore. En fin de compte, nous sommes en mesure d’offrir une expérience de villégiature luxueuse dans la nature pour une fraction du prix standard.

Début et fin du programme

Le Bali Fire Dance & Flow Retreat 2020 aura lieu du samedi 14 mars au dimanche 29 mars.

Semaine de Baton: L’orientation pour le stage Baton commence à 17 h 00 le samedi 14 mars. Le stage de Baton prend fin le samedi 21 mars à midi.

Semaine de Poi: L’orientation pour la stage Poi commence à 17h le dimanche 22 mars. La stage de Poi se termine à midi le dimanche 29 mars.

Baton: 14.03-21.03 / Poi: 22.03-29.03 / Les deux: 14-29.03

Durabilité

bali-rice

Nous nous sommes engagés à avoir un impact positif sur la planète et Bali avec cet événement. À ce titre, nous reversons 3% de nos bénéfices à des organisations à but non lucratif locales. Organisations non gouvernementales œuvrant pour la durabilité écologique et les opportunités offertes aux personnes défavorisées.

De plus, pour les élèves qui compensent les émissions de carbone générées par leur voyage vers et depuis Bali, nous vous proposerons une séance privée gratuite avec le moniteur de votre choix. Prévenez-nous si vous avez l’intention de participer afin que nous puissions planifier votre session à l’avance (la semaine a tendance à être remplis, il est donc préférable de planifier à l’avance).

inscrivez-vous tôt et obtenez une reduction

Plus sur nos événements d’enseignement

« It was great fun.  Best holiday ever! »
Matt (Stromboli – 2015)

“I went last year and this was such an amazing time! Be prepared to work hard and learn tons! Srikanta is a fantastic teacher!”
Jennifer  (Costa Rica – 2012)

« Thank you for a great event and all your energy you spent in my improving.  I enjoyed every single minute and wish I could stay much longer. »
Suzanna (Stromboli – 2015)

De Montezuma au Costa Rica à Stromboli en Italie, nos retraites sont toujours une aventure!

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt
0

Learn, Play, Discover & Relax!

This 7 or 15-day Fire Dance & Flow Retreat on the beautiful island of Bali combines poi and staff with pristine nature and adventure expeditions.

Vojta, Srikanta & Jen are pleased to invite the legendary Yuta as our special guest teacher for this year’s event!  Together we are happy to propose a unique event suited for all levels of poi and staff spinners.

pool-3

Instructional Classes are balanced with playing, relaxing and discovering Bali’s rich natural and cultural heritage.  Participants can choose their level of challenge but overall this retreat is very conducive to taking it easy and enjoying the ride. 

In addition to daily classes & play time we’ll explore many amazing places around Bali (private transportation organised): Temple ruins, waterfalls, volcanoes, pristine beaches & iconic rice fields.

Join us for adventure & fun in Bali!

Get a discount! Get an Early Bird Ticket!

Who is welcome to attend?

All levels from beginner to advanced are welcome.

Instructors will offer beginning, intermediate & advanced options for most techniques or split the classes.  As we are 4 instructors, we are well equipped to cater to individual needs. Instructional Classes will take place from 9am to 12pm in an air-conditioned training space. 

Poi: March 22-29 2020

Workshops will be held in a group and also individually (for some moves we might make small groups depending on the skill level and your interests). To benefit the most from this retreat, be sure to know the basic poi moves, such as; 3-beat weaves (forward & backward) windmill, watermill, hip-reels & turns, butterfly (same-time, split-time), buzzsaw. 

If you can’t do some of the moves listed above, don’t worry! We will teach you that. However, if you want to be prepared, look up some tutorials (such as those on Playpoi.com – those are great!)

Apart from that, there will be short spontaneous workshops in the afternoon at various places that we’ll visit, plus the instructors will be always happy to help you individually! 

The goal is also to get inspired (which goes particularly easy at place like Bali) and set your future poi goals. Vojta and Yuta will be happy to help you to set you on the right track and give insights on their own poi journey.

IMG_6490

Staff: March 14-21 2020

Srikanta and Jen Barefoot of the Company Fusion Arts are happy to be embarking on this adventure with you.  The Bali event will be unlike our other Fire Dance Retreats which are more rigorous & focused on creating & performing dynamic fire dance choreography.  The goal of the Bali retreat is to learn, discover, have fun & relax.

Periods of exploration & discovery are a necessary process for renewal and regeneration.  We will of course still be offering a solid curriculum with options for beginning to advanced. We invite you to come with an open mind, ready to explore, discover and see where your inspiration leads you.

As the Bali event is less structured than our other teaching events, we’ll be more able to adapt to the interests of the group.  We may decide to spend more time on tech, or flow, or performance aspects, or double staffs, or partner staff.  We are also along for the ride ; )

Just as a great tower has a solid foundation, the more solid your foundation is, the higher your potential to soar.  Please verify your proficiency.  If you think you could benefit by learning a few more techniques prior to the retreat, we invite you to check out Srikanta’s instructional video series on Dancing with the Fire Staff, available for download/ streaming.

About the Instructors

duo-danse-de-lumiere

Vojta is a Czech poi pioneer who excels at combining poi tech tricks with dance.  With a style and approach all his own, he has invented some innovative new poi techniques.

Vojta has shared his poi enthusiasm far and wide and taught more than a hundred workshops worldwide. In addition, he’s filmed many inspirational poi videos, including the world’s most watched poi video “The Future Is Now”. Check out Vojta’s videos and personal website to learn more about this talented Artist.

Srikanta was the first Contemporary Fire Dancer featured by the Cirque du Soleil (2007-2010), performing over 700 shows using fire poi, fire staff, double fire staff & double fire swords. He has 20 years of experience fire dancing including his position of Fire Dancing Coach and Lead Fire Dancer for Cirque Du Soleil.  Srikanta has taught poi & staff workshops at locations worldwide since 2003 and has created an Instructional Video Series called Dancing with the Fire Staff.  Click here for more info & to purchase.

Jen has been an integral part of Srikanta’s teaching since 2011.  As a teacher with a background in classic dance, she continues to help create and refine both their dance-based style of fire dance and the way it’s taught.  The two combine fire dance technique with martial arts, acrobatics & dance in their shows as well as in their instructional classes.

Yuta is a poi artist who expands the possibilities of poi and opening up new expressions of poi.  The poi video he released in 2005 (Deepforest Endangered Species) is known worldwide as one of the revolutionary performances that had a great influence on the early poi community. He has taught and performed in over 15 countries. Yuta now focuses on activities to spread the poi culture in Japan.
Yuta’s Website / Youtube

Typical Retreat Concepts

STAFF:

-Improvisation- Freedom of Movement/ Expression
-Creative and Dramatic Choices- dare!
-Optimising your training
-Bringing out your own style
-Dancing with the unforeseen- what to do when things don’t go as planned
-Special Focus on Body Movement & Dance

– increasing our ability to learn fast by

POI:

practicing coordination and hand independence
– beautifying and exploring possibilities of the moves you already can do
– becoming free with movement and expression, thoughts on improvisation and “flow” 
– incorporating our body into the motion
– contrast moves, transitions between different planes, cross-points
– anti-spin based moves
– pirouettes, tracers
– contact poi, tosses
– under the legs, jumps
– hyperloops (basics or advanced)
– wraps (spiral wraps, body wraps)
– stalls, transitions between all the moves
– behind the back moves
– triple poi and meteor basics (from one-handed weaves to one-handed anti-spin patterns)

* note that we might not be able to do all of this, however if we lack enough time the classes will be adapted to your preferences
You won’t only learn poi moves and tricks – we will talk about how to incorporate these moves into a performance, how to achieve a good stage presence, you will be taught some light acrobatics, footwork and dance moves you can use in flow arts. Moreover we’ll play some theatrical games that will help us to explore more body movement possibilities.

Accommodation

pool-3

Puri Saron Madangan is a temple-like resort nestled among Bali’s lush inland.  Situated far from the tourist track, the area enjoys fresher air than along the island’s coasts. The resort features typical Balinese architecture, 3 swimming pools and beautiful views into the jungle.  The villas are charming and all offer pristine views into nature. A unique gastronomic experience is planned: Indonesian meals served 3 times a day, buffet style. 

We are overjoyed to find this resort along with the positive and supportive repore with the management.  It is the ideal place for our event and they have allowed us to make it even better. In the end we are able to offer a luxurious resort experience in nature for a fraction of the standard price. 

You will find more info about the accommodation options on the bali ticket page.

Program Start & End Times

The 2020 Bali Fire Dance Retreat runs from Saturday March 14th to Sunday March 29th.

Staff Retreat Week:  Orientation for the Staff Retreat begins at 5pm on Saturday March 14.  The Staff Retreat ends at noon on Saturday March 21st.

Poi Retreat Week:  Orientation for the Poi Retreat begins at 5pm on Sunday March 22.  The Poi Retreat ends at noon on Sunday March 29th.

Staff: 14.03-21.03 / Poi: 22.03-29.03 / Both: 14-29.03

Sustainability

bali-rice

We are committed to positively impacting the planet and Bali with this event.  As such we are donating 3% of profits towards local non-profits; Non Governmental Organizations working towards ecological sustainability and opportunities for the disadvantaged.  

Furthermore, for students who offset the carbon emissions generated by their trip to & from Bali, we will offer you a free private session with the instructor of your choice.  FYI- Give us a heads up if you plan to participate so that we can schedule your session in advance (the week tends to get busy so best to plan ahead).

Get a discount! Get an Early Bird Ticket!

More about our teaching events

“It was great fun.  Best holiday ever!”
Matt (Stromboli – 2015)

“I went last year and this was such an amazing time! Be prepared to work hard and learn tons! Srikanta is a fantastic teacher!”
Jennifer  (Costa Rica – 2012)

“Thank you for a great event and all your energy you spent in my improving.  I enjoyed every single minute and wish I could stay much longer.”
Suzanna (Stromboli – 2015)

From Montezuma in Costa Rica, to Stromboli in Italy, our Retreats are always an adventure!

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt
0